I made these zucchini fritters as a bit of a healthier alternative to the boiled egg on two pieces of (gluten-free) toast that I’ve been having for breakfast almost everyday for about two years now.  I’m conscious of trying to add more vegetables to my diet and I think zucchini fritters make a good substitute for the bread.

IMG_2747

4 cups grated zucchini

2 shallots, sliced

2 eggs lightly beaten

2/3 cup gluten free flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

butter

salt and pepper to taste

 

The next step is of course pan fry these with a little butter.  These zucchini fritters have very little flour so the batter is quite light.  The mixture will last a couple of days, if you are time-poor in the mornings, make up a batch and stick it in the fridge and cook these fresh each morning.  I eat these with a poached egg and some tomato chutney… I’ll let you know when I can do a real poached egg in a saucepan with the swirling boiling water!   I’m stuck with the plastic frame thing over the pot of boiling water. It tastes great but not quite as attractive looking. I welcome any tips for the perfect poached egg…

 

