Further to my earlier rant about the additives in canned baked beans, I decided to make my own.  They were so delicious and easy to make I don’t know why I didn’t do this earlier.  We have quite a large slow-cooker so I made heaps and have quite a few portions left-over in the freezer.

3 cups (dried) cannellni beans

1 ham hock

half an onion – chopped finely

1/4 cup tomato sauce

1/3 cup maple syrup

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

1/3 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon mustard

1 cup water – reserved from bean soaking

There are various ways to prepare/cook/soak the beans, but lets not get bogged down in those details – I chose the boil, soak, rinse, boil again method. I then placed all ingredients (except the tomato sauce) into the slow cooker and left it to do its thing for 10 hours.  I prepared this the night before so we could wake up to tasty, fresh, natural homemade beans in the morning.  1 hour before you are ready to eat take the ham hock out, remove the bone and fat and finely chop the meat and add back into the slow-cooker.  Add the tomato sauce and stir through.  The maple syrup and brown sugar compliment the salty ham flavour – these really are a new favourite.  Serve on gluten-free buttered toast.

IMG_2061

 

This is really a hearty dish and will keep you full right through until lunch time.

 

 

